IBM Watson™ Ideas

Welcome to the IBM Watson™ Ideas Portal


We welcome and appreciate your feedback on IBM Watson™ Products to help make them even better than they are today!


If you are looking for troubleshooting help or wondering how to use our products and services, please check the IBM Watson™ documentation. Please do not use the Ideas Portal for reporting bugs - we ask that you report bugs or issues with the product by contacting IBM support.


Before you submit an idea, please perform a search first as a similar idea may have already been reported in the portal.


If a related idea is not yet listed, please create a new idea and include with it a description which includes expected behavior as well as why having this feature would improve the service and how it would address your use case.

disable dialog node

One of the issues i have when i test things out is i often need to delete a dialog node to verify if something works. Deleting a dialog node with a lot of configurations such as conditional checks, detailed answer, jump to conditions etc is making it time consuming to revert back. (using save version is not an option as this makes room for more frequent saves and there limit for count of saved versions)

My suggestion is that it should be possible to just mark a dialog node and disable it. In this way you can still keep the dialog node while developing. When you have sorted everything out and don't need it anymore you can of course delete it. 

  • benny hoang
  • Aug 2 2019
  • Will not implement
Why is it useful?
Who would benefit from this IDEA? as a developer i want to disable a dialog node to test new changes
How should it work?
Idea Priority
Priority Justification
Customer Name
Submitting Organization
Submitter Tags
  • Attach files
  • Jeremie Larin commented
    05 Aug 08:22

    You can actually just set the node to "False" as the main condition. 

  • benny hoang commented
    06 Aug 17:29

    @Jeremie Larin good point. but what if you already have another main condition? Then you need again to copy and paste it and temporary save it somewhere. I was looking for a way when you "disable" the node it turns grey or something in the UI so you see that this is not in dialog tree, but can easily enable it again. 

  • Admin
    Mitch Mason commented
    14 Aug 21:19

    you can do the original conditions && false, then just remove the false condition when youre ready